jumping to conclusions

Source: http://groundedpsyche.com/iceberg/

One of the hardest things for me to accept is that moment where people learn some small scrap of information about you, and use this to build an entire picture of the person they expect you to be from that. Sometimes what they learn about you is something so ridiculously small that I can’t help but think, ‘Seriously? You’re judging me based on that?’ Not only is this practice misguided, but it’s also a giant punch to the gut. We are all so much more than just a sum of facts and past activities.

I mean, I’ve fought my way through a four year degree where I worked 60 hours a week to carry projects through and compensate for teammates who refused to show time and time again. I’ve dealt with family illnesses and deaths, personal long-term illness, and the death of the most patient and loving creature in my life – my beautiful cat. I’ve won awards, not just within my degree, but in language and Chinese calligraphy. I’ve written and continue to write stories that are read by thousands of people. I cry when I watch superhero movies and still dream of becoming one. I make my own costumes for dress-up parties, and I can do more chinups than most guys my age. There is so much more to me than you can possibly see after just meeting me, and you’re going to judge me based on the fact that I don’t have a driver’s license? Really?

Some days, people are such an effort…

Q

Leave a Reply

